Disagreements among family members and housemates are a natural and normal occurrence, but sometimes those arguments can get out of hand. When such incidents happen, the authorities get involved and the consequences under the law can be severe and long-lasting. If you have been arrested and charged with domestic violence in Wilmington or New Hanover County, NC, it is in your best interests to contact a North Carolina Domestic Violence Attorney as soon as you can, because the state will be assembling a case against you from the very start. Your attorney can advise you on how to communicate with the authorities to ensure that they understand your side of the story.
It is unwise to speak with either the police or the state's attorneys until you have had the opportunity to receive legal counsel. Therefore, if you are facing prosecution for domestic violence, contact an attorney today and begin forming your legal defense. Please note, first offense domestic violence a possible 150 days in jail. Second offense will be treated as a class I Felony with a possible imprisonment time of 24 months.
Domestic violence is a serious issue in North Carolina. Any assault or actions that look like an assault, qualifies as domestic violence. Under the North Carolina Code, current or former spouses, parents, children, someone you had a child with, lived with, or dated can all bring a charge for domestic violence. They may also and frequently do, bring domestic civil action wherein you will not be permitted to contact your loved ones or even return to your own home until the case is resolved. Please note, if an officer thinks you have an act of domestic violence you will be arrested and held without bond for 48 hours. Moreover, Federal law will prohibit you from owning or possessing a fire arm for a period of one year if you are convicted of this offense.
Contact William T. Peregoy, Attorney At Law, PLLC today for assistance with your domestic violence case in Wilmington or New Hanover County, North Carolina.